top of page
  • Writer's picturemelindabrasher

Favorite Books from my Youth


Here are some of the books I remember liking most from my high school years. You'll notice a high proportion of fantasy, science fiction, and historical fiction (or classics that took place well before my time).


-The Princess Bride by William Goldman (The movie is one of my favorites of all time. The book is quite different, but also very good.)

-The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

-The Lord of the Flies by William Golding (Boy did my friends and I have a lot of discussions on this one)

-And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

-Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede (And Caught in Crystal, a less comedic fantasy)

-House of Stairs by William Sleator

-The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (And The Restaurant at the End of the Universe)

-Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery

-Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card (And Ender's Shadow)

-Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier

-Emma by Jane Austen (and all the others, really, with Pride and Prejudice a close second)

-The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy


bottom of page