top of page

Favorites from my Childhood: Fantasy and Science Fiction

I was thinking back on some of my favorite fantasy and science fiction novels of my childhood. I haven't re-read these lately (except the Hero and the Crown), so I'm not sure how they hold up (except the Hero and the Crown, which totally does), but here are some I still remember fondly, for various reasons and at various ages:


The Hero and the Crown, by Robin McKinley

The Book of Three and the Black Cauldron, by Lloyd Alexander

The Search for Delicious, by Natalie Babbitt

The Phantom Tollbooth, by Norton Juster

Dealing with Dragons, by Patricia Wrede

The Princess Bride, by William Goldman

The Dark is Rising series, by Susan Cooper

A Ring of Endless Light, by Madeleine L'Engle (and other related books and series)

The Magic Coin, by Ruth Chew

The Rats of NIMH series, by Robert C. O'Brien

Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, by Roald Dahl

Enchantress from the Stars, by Syliva Engdahl






2 views0 comments
bottom of page