top of page
  • Writer's picturemelindabrasher

My 2022 Reading List Highlights

Updated: Nov 13, 2023





Like many of you, I do the Goodreads yearly book challenge. My goal was to read 50 books and I managed to read 52. Of course, half of those were middle-grade novels or nonfiction, so it's not really as impressive as it sounds. On the other hand, I read a lot of short kids' books that I didn't count, so I'm going to claim my win!


Here are some stats:

Fiction: 71%

Types of fiction:

35% contemporary of various kinds

32% science fiction/fantasy (and a little horror)

19% historical fiction (loosely defined as before my lifetime) /classics

11% mystery/thriller

3% romance


Nonfiction: 29%

Types of nonfiction:

47% animals, plants, and nature

Other topics: technology, memoir, random trivia, history, and...[gasp]...sports!


Only 1 audio book, but 7 graphic novels (a genre I'm trying to learn to love)


Favorite/most memorable books:

The Ickabog--J.K. Rowling

Any Sign of Life--Rae Carson

The Darkness Outside Us--Eliot Schrefer

My Jasper June--Laurel Snyder

Around the World in 80 Plants--Jonathan Drori

Witches of Brooklyn--Sophie Escabasse

Remarkably Bright Creatures--Shelby Van Pelt

Unusual Creatures; A Mostly Accurate Account of Some of Earth's Strangest Creatures--Michael Hearst

Pip Bartlett's Guide to Magical Creatures--Jackson Pearce and Maggie Stiefvater


Okay...so the last three books all had "Creatures" in the title. Coincidence? Maybe. And I almost put a book about cats on this list. So think what you like.


Happy reading.






6 views0 comments
bottom of page