top of page
  • Writer's picturemelindabrasher

Favorites from my Childhood: Historical Fiction



I love historical fiction, and to me it shares a lot of similarities to fantasy and science fiction in that the characters inhabit a world that I, as the reader, do not. I love seeing the differences in culture and technology and ways of life. Here are some of my favorites from childhood. I'm also including books that take place significantly before my lifetime but aren't technically historical fiction because they were written by people who lived through the times. Soon I'll post another post of more modern historical fiction I've fallen in love with and older stories I've discovered since childhood.

Little House in the Big Woods (and others), by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Anne of Green Gables, by L. M. Montgomery (And the Emily of New Moon series)

Number the Stars, by Lois Lowry

The Island of the Blue Dolphins, by Scott O'Dell

Julie of the Wolves, by Jean Craighead George

The Master Puppeteer, by Katherine Patterson (and Of Nightingales that Weep and Jacob Have I Loved)

A Little Princess, by Francis Hodgson Burnett (and The Secret Garden)

The Slave Dancer, by Paula Fox

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, by Avi

The Whipping Boy, by Sid Fleischman

The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Reluctant Queen, by Molly Costain Haycroft (and other similar European monarchy books)

Escape from Warsaw, by Ian Serrailier

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2020 by Melinda Brasher

bottom of page